Here’s my card

Today I got my 2nd set of business card. The 1st set I ordered came out nice but weren’t quite right. The print was too small. It wasn’t anyone else’s fault but my own. I guess it is true, everything does look bigger online. Ha! But I digress, I love these new cards. I kept the same color and image. I just moved things around and made the text bigger. In this case, bigger is definitely better.

The cards came just in time too. This Saturday is our monthly California Writer’s Club meeting. I can walk in with a little more dignity and pizazz than I usually do. Especially since the August 2012 newsletter is now available online at http://www.hdcwc.org/Pages/default.aspx .

Guess who’s on page 4 AND 5? No, it’s not the latest Kim K. romantic development silly sally. Me! The editor put 2 of my poems in. It didn’t quite hit me till about an hour after seeing it. I was having breakfast with my son and had to run to the bathroom. I started tearing up and was afraid I would start crying like a freak in front of everyone.

Sure, I had already posted those poems on my blog but having them published is different. There’s a sense of anonymity with a blog. I can pretend nobody is reading it although secretly hoping everyone is. But this is legitmate. I didn’t even get paid which really makes me feel like a bona fide writer.

I never thought the day would come that I’d be happy about not getting paid. Funny how life turns out, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

